什么是Coin Miner恶意软件?特洛伊CoinMiner解释

Coin Miner是一种恶意软件,专注于通过在受害者的CPU或GPU上挖掘它们来获取加密货币。

您可能有兴趣查看我们的其他防病毒产品:
Trojan Killer, Trojan Scanner and Online Virus Scanner.

什么是Coin Miner?| CoinMiner恶意软件 | Gridinsoft

CoinMiner恶意软件

September 16, 2023

加密挖掘成为21世纪的淘金热。每个人都听说过它,许多人开始将其用作额外甚至主要收入的来源。然而,大笔资金不仅吸引了富人,还吸引了那些试图声称这些资金或让别人为他们致富的无赖。

Coin Miner是一种恶意软件类型,利用受害者计算机的硬件来挖掘加密货币。通常,控制这种Coin Miner病毒的骗子选择Monero(XMR)或(Litecoin)等加密货币,因为它们是最容易挖掘的。他们可以使用与合法挖掘相似甚至完全相同的软件,但有一个关键区别 - 使用硬件的人从未同意这样做。永远不会同意

加密挖掘恶意软件通常旨在在用户的CPU上进行操作。这是因为有很多PC,尤其是办公室中,没有GPU。尽管GPU挖掘效果要好得多,但对于骗子来说,成功启动每台PC都是重要的。他们用数量代替质量,这在所选择的加密代币中非常有效。

CoinMiner恶意软件如何工作?

正如前面提到的,加密矿工几乎做与真正的矿工相同的事情,有时甚至使用相同的代码库 - 来自开源工具。它们专注于使用硬件进行交易块哈希的计算。根据加密代币的不同,哈希可能包含64、128、256或更多个符号。这个操作是为了将交易信息添加到区块链 - 每种加密货币都有一个唯一的全球账簿。

加密挖掘方案

与CPU相比,GPU对这项任务更有效,因为它们具有成千上万的执行核心,而CPU通常只有4到8个。这就是为什么您可能在最后一次加密热潮期间听说了显卡价格飙升。您仍然可以使用处理器进行挖掘,但哈希计算任务是时间敏感的。如果您不能及时完成它,那么其他人将因为更快地完成而获得奖励。为了从两方面减轻这个问题,骗子选择容易挖掘的加密代币,并侵入数百台计算机以将它们添加到他们的网络中。因此,即使拥有旧的和弱的CPU,也会因其数量而得到补偿。

加密挖掘恶意软件通常服从命令服务器,只需独立决定一些小事情。然而,初始的Coin Miner设置几乎总是独立于服务器进行的 - 因为传播规模巨大。在设置完毕后,恶意软件将连接到服务器,检索统一的指令并开始运行。为了使这种连接更隐秘,骗子通常租用知名的托管服务器 - 幸运的是,他们目前使用加密货币支付。

2024年发现的特洛伊CoinMiner样本:

Risk.Win64.CoinMiner.sd!c13bcb4391388b7f4909e82a1ea13ea8ae314c07d7811cb58726ec0ca422bba15
Trojan.Win64.CoinMiner.saa9476079bb9e631c7172d501f4a61f23ecc4df8dfdd2933f37f19f1045b52ced
Risk.Win32.CoinMiner.dd!n71b74460c6df29403f388b6aceaeb39b59396dbc6b1443c2e44313631f3b3dd1
Trojan.Win64.CoinMiner.sa3d59de38d118097e029e040193dcf33f2574ec018e5eaf6fa98546cf51ed43f5
Trojan.Win32.CoinMiner.vb!s121767ffa756cc4091aea5de89038d9ccd08282b8c958e678aa7ee3764c807ebe
Trojan.Win32.Miner.cld585d25dc0667499972139cd2e2f6a6293d9aa8715c80397437d48dccccb29099
Trojan.Win64.CoinMiner.saa0230bd01bf90ca7fd0c2d10c1a115bf771a90c67f666401943a47d32a78d156
Trojan.Win64.CoinMiner.ca00748d7ea4ccfb6fc6ff59e3fe24c46b862ab3dd9c562ff6b13b5dfb31326bc6
Trojan.Win64.CoinMiner.sac605220d71491bb0b0b16869e35d02d7613f0258675cd9b860a1b56ebdceee74
Trojan.Win64.CoinMiner.dd!cb00bbff41e564dcba77dbbf3aa94dd332d91af99584abff68160b7f8abc500b0

如何感染Coin Miner病毒?

大多数Coin Miner通过特洛伊方式进入您的计算机 - 伪装成合法的应用程序或工具。它们传播的确切方式可能不同,这取决于管理分发的骗子的决定。但通常情况下,您将在被黑客入侵的应用程序、用于一些不太合法行动的工具中,以及电子邮件垃圾邮件中遇到Coin Miner。在某些情况下,您将被建议关闭您的防病毒软件 - 这已经应该被视为威胁。然而,正如前面提到的,即使在不对用户的安全设置进行任何操作的情况下,也有办法使它变得更加隐秘。

电子邮件垃圾邮件是传播Coin Miner恶意软件的一种流行方式
电子邮件垃圾邮件是传播Coin Miner恶意软件的一种流行方式

电子邮件垃圾邮件作为Coin Miner传播的方式相对较新,似乎在今天传播的不太多。2022年夏初,爆发了一大批这样的矿工,主要针对说西班牙语的国家。恶意软件隐藏在虚假的.docx、.xlsx、.pdf或.txt文件中,这些文件附加在电子邮件中。与传统的带有恶意宏脚本的文档内攻击不同,骗子使用了另一种更古老的方式 - 双重扩展名。默认情况下,Windows禁用文件扩展名显示,因此受害者只看到文档的“合法”扩展名。实际上,所有这些文件都是可执行的 - .exe扩展名隐藏在界面设置后面。

CoinMiner恶意软件是否危险?

一般来说,Coin Miner恶意软件会给PC使用带来很多不便。加密挖掘是一个非常资源密集的过程,因此使用参与挖掘的计算机几乎是不可能的。将CPU或GPU负载到极限,以至于甚至启动Web浏览器都可能很困难。挖掘会尽其所能地挤出尽可能多的电力,由于由黑客控制,您无法管理这个负载。

然而,这并不是挖掘的唯一危险。有效的哈希计算假定硬件持续负载,黑客永远不会错过利用他们感染的系统的机会,只要可能。对于CPU来说,长时间的负载并不是很关键 - 它们只有在硅晶体存在缺陷或散热片损坏时才可能发生故障。与此同时,GPU在挖掘过程中会受到严重磨损 - 一些型号在一个月内可能失去20%以上的性能,这取决于软件以及如何管理负载。通常情况下,这种情况发生在温度和硬件负载被不当管理时,但再次强调一下 - 那时网络犯罪分子关心受害者PC的状态是什么时候?

还有一个通常没有人谈论的风险。Coin Miners可以收集更具有间谍软件和窃取者特征的数据包。有关位置、受害者的真实IP地址、PC配置、个人信息等信息在数据库中的价值可能在Darknet中价值连城。而传播恶意矿工的无赖永远不会放弃获得金钱奖励的机会。嵌入间谍软件功能只需几分钟,对受害者来说,结果可能非常糟糕。

如何检测CoinMiner恶意软件?

Coin Miner活动的关键迹象是整个系统变慢。显然,当系统的关键元素被分散到另一个任务时,任何系统都很难工作。Coin Miner恶意软件排干了所有可用的电力,无论是10年前的Celeron还是Threadripper。此外,您肯定会听到您的散热风扇以最大的RPM比率旋转。然而,即使在日常任务中也可能发生这种情况,因此重要的是进行一些额外的研究。

有些东西将处理器负载到100%
有些东西将处理器负载到100%

与前述间谍软件相反,Coin Miner恶意软件从不隐藏其存在。实际上,这是不可能的,因为它的存在有一个不可移动的迹象 - 极端的硬件负载。由于它们无法摆脱它,它们试图将恶意进程(它肯定会出现在任务管理器中)伪装成已知和合法的东西。伪装的最常见形式是采用某个系统进程的名称。大多数用户对Windows的内部机制一无所知,因此无法判断后台运行的进程的适当性。看到一个进程的名称“winlogon.exe”或“msmpeng.exe”占据了他们70%以上的硬件性能对他们来说毫无意义,并且搜索结果可能会显示这些进程是Windows的一部分。然而,没有情况下这些进程可以占用这么多的CPU资源。当然,有一些例外情况,但它们非常罕见,最有可能的情况是您的系统中存在Coin Miner恶意软件。

Coin Miner病毒在您的系统中运行的典型迹象

  • 无论用户在PC上执行什么操作,CPU或GPU负载都很高;
  • 用户进程树中存在系统进程;
  • 无法通过重新启动解决问题,即计算机启动后立即出现CPU负载;
  • Microsoft Defender已关闭;

尽管如此,确保您确实遇到了这个问题的最好方法是使用防病毒软件。您当然可以猜测,而且猜测正确的机会可能非常高,但在这种情况下依赖机会不是一个选项。具有多个检测系统的专业软件将确实显示正在发生的一切,并在必要时删除入侵者。

如何保护计算机免受CoinMiner恶意软件侵害?

Coin Miners不容易预测和删除,因为它们的传播浪潮很少与其他恶意软件活动相一致。这种恶意软件更倾向于加密货币价值 - 它们要不太可预测。因此,您应该期望新的把戏和方法随着另一波加密热潮而来。

确保规避潜在的恶意软件来源是解决风险的最佳方法。当然,您不能禁止使用其主要来源 - 互联网 - 但肯定可以停止访问危险的地方,不要使用可能对您的系统造成损害的软件。不可信任的Warez网站提供了破解版本的流行应用程序、分享自制工具的论坛或Discord社区、未知发送者的电子邮件 - 这些都不应该信任。即使您确信该源不会传播恶意内容,最好在安装之前进行检查 - 您永远无法确定下一件事是否会是恶意的。

最终的方法,应该仍然作为最后的论据,是具有主动保护功能的高效防病毒软件。使用不太复杂的应用程序,您当然可以检测到已经运行的Coin Miner恶意软件,但主动保护可以阻止它在一开始就做任何事情。并且记住,Coin Miner病毒可以轻松充当间谍软件 - 并给予它更多的时间来行事意味着公开所有个人细节。GridinSoft Anti-Malware将使一切变得正常 - 快速而不给恶意软件任何机会。

What is Coin Miner Malware? Trojan CoinMiner Explained

Coin Miner is a malware that concentrates on earning cryptocurrencies by mining them on victims’ CPU or GPU.

You may be interested in taking a look at our other antivirus tools:
Trojan Killer, Trojan Scanner and Online Virus Scanner.

What is Coin Miner? | CoinMiner Malware | Gridinsoft

CoinMiner Malware

September 16, 2023

Cryptomining became a gold rush of XXI century. Everyone heard about it, and a lot of people start using it as a source of additional, or even primary income. However, big money attract not only rich people, but also rascals who aim at claiming those money, or making someone work for their enrichment.

Coin Miner is a malware type that uses the hardware elements of the victim’s PC to mine cryptocurrencies. Most often, crooks who control such coin miner virus (Monero (XMR) or (Litecoin an example), as they are the easiest for mining. They can use the software that is similar or even completely repeats the one used for legit mining, but with a key difference - people whose hardware is used never agreed for this.

Cryptomining malware generally aims at conducting its activity on the user’s CPU. That happens because there are pretty big number of PCs, especially in offices, where no GPU is present. Even through GPU mining is more effective by orders of magnitude, it is important for crooks to successfully launch on every PC they invade. They substitute the quality with quantity, which is pretty effective with the chosen cryptotokens.

How Does CoinMiner Malware Work?

As it was mentioned, crypto miners do nearly same things as genuine miners, and sometimes use same codebase – from the open-source tools. They concentrate at conducting the calculations of a transaction block hash using the hardware. Depending on the cryptotoken, the hash may consist of 64, 128, 256 or more symbols. This operation is needed to add the transaction info to a blockchain - a global ledger book, unique for each crypto currency.

Cryptomining scheme

GPUs are way more efficient than CPU for that task, as they have thousands of execution cores, in contrast to CPUs that typically have 4 to 8 ones. That’s why you’d probably heard about the graphic card’s price surge during the last cryptoboom. You still can perform the mining with a processor, but the task of hash calculation is time-sensitive. If you will not complete it in time, then someone else will receive a reward for doing it faster. To mitigate this problem from both ends, crooks opt for easy-to-mine cryptos and apply hacking into hundreds of computers to add them to their network. Hence, even having old and weak CPUs will be compensated by their number.

Cryptomining malware usually subordinates the command server, having only small things to decide autonomously. However, the initial coin miner setup almost always happens independently from the server - as the spreading has a massive scale. After being set up, malware connects to the server, retrieves the unified instructions and starts running. To make this connection more stealthy, crooks rent a server on well-known hosting - fortunately for them, they apply cryptocurrency payments these days.

Trojan CoinMiner Samples Found in 2024:

Trojan.Win64.CoinMiner.ca00748d7ea4ccfb6fc6ff59e3fe24c46b862ab3dd9c562ff6b13b5dfb31326bc6
Trojan.Win64.CoinMiner.clf5db7224ab6463031015fb00d64e3eb4eade24b7e0c83a77cf5d79d6642e60bf
Trojan.Win64.CoinMiner.caa67109836839f25002d6a6e56666d6f94f7aafbd9a57c344b03b7ce55c69a32e
Trojan.Win32.CoinMiner.dd!n9c95f4ec39326d4d7ed0f03f8f67816e7dcc44616e0d780bc0c7aa06dbb7f8f5
Trojan.Win32.CoinMiner.cld7527f3591ee18f9905689b6f40e2844bfb72f81a9bbcf4db49a248a106699a4b
Trojan.Win32.CoinMiner.ns0dd4434fe34de41c317a14592a1b6a3dcc4eb7450125cfa6f843caddfb2337fa
Trojan.Win64.CoinMiner.dd!cbe5a1dd54dbb3dd90e65cbd1cac4e856194929bf52792e382dcf42b97876f56b
Trojan.Win64.CoinMiner.oa!s11b90b9c9854e46327a1bfccc6fd367294a6ee99c36ce20ae7741347bde16e4cd
Trojan.Win32.CoinMiner.vl!ne4c7751992f0c7d7adb6d00bec088e2fa51c1cae7e2c415c9b5691215c898597
Trojan.Win32.CoinMiner.vb!s156d612e014504c96bb92429c31eb93f40938015d422b35765912ac4e6bd3755b

How Do You Get a Coin Miner Virus?

Most of coin miners make a way into your PC as trojans - disguised as a legit apps or tools. The exact way they are spread may differ, depending on the decision of a crook who manage the distribution. But generally you will meet the coin miner in hacked apps, tools for some not so legit actions and in email spam. For some of the examples, you will be recommended to switch off your antivirus - and that already should be considered threatening. However, as it was mentioned before, there are ways to make it stealthier even without any manipulation to the user’s security settings.

Email spam is one of the popular ways of coin miner malware spreading
Email spam is one of the popular ways of coin miner malware spreading

Email spam as a way for coin miner distribution is quite new, and seems to have much less spreading these days. At the beginning of summer 2022, there was a large outbreak of such miners, that generally aimed Spanish-speaking countries. Malware was contained in the fake .docx, .xlsx, .pdf or .txt files, which were attached to the letter. Instead of classic scheme with malicious macro script inside of a document, crooks used another, more old scheme - the double extension. By default, Windows has the files extensions displaying disabled, so the victims saw only “legit” extension of a document. In fact, all these files were executable - the .exe extension was hiding behind the interface settings.

Is CoinMiner Malware Dangerous?

Generally speaking, coin miner malware brings a lot of discomfort in PC usage. Cryptomining is a very resource-intensive process, so using the computer that is involved in mining is nearly impossible. Having your CPU or GPU loaded to the limit where it is barely enough for OS to run (~75-80%) means you will likely struggle even to launch the web browser. Mining squeezes out as much power as it can, and since it is controlled by hackers, you have no way to manage this load.

Still, that is not the sole danger of mining. Efficient hash calculation supposes a constant load to your hardware, and hackers never miss a chance to exploit the system they’ve infected as long as possible. For CPUs, long-term loads are not very critical - they may malfunction only if they have some sort of a silicon crystal flaw, or a broken heat sink. Meanwhile, GPUs suffer a heavy wearing during the mining - some models can lose over 20% of their performance in a month, depending on a software and how the load is managed. This usually happens when the temperature and hardware load are managed improperly, but once again - when did cybercriminals pay attention to the victims’ PC state?

There is also a risk no one usually talk about. Coin Miners can collect data packets that are more typical for spyware and stealers. Information about the location, real IP-address of a victim, PC configuration, personal information – these things collected to a database may cost a lot in the Darknet. And rascals who spread malicious miners will never discard a chance to get a monetary bonus. Embedding the spyware functionality is a question of a few minutes, and the results may be alarmingly bad for a victim.

How to Detect CoinMiner Malware?

The key sign of a coin miner activity is the overall system slowness. It is obvious that any system will be difficult to work when the key element of the system is distracted for another task. Coin Miner malware drains all the available power, regardless if there is a 10-years-old Celeron or a Threadripper. Also, you will definitely hear your heat vent whirling on its max RPM ratios. Still, such situations may happen when you perform your daily tasks as well, so it is important to do some additional research.

Something loads the processor to 100%
Something loads the processor to 100%

Contrary to the aforementioned spyware, coin miner malware never hides its presence. Actually, it is impossible, since there is a non-removable sign of its presence – the extremal hardware load. Since they cannot get rid of it, they try to disguise the malicious process (it will definitely be present in the Task Manager) as something known and legit. The most widespread form of concealment is taking the name of a certain system process. Most of users have no clue about the internal mechanisms in Windows, and thus cannot judge about the adequacy of processes running in the background.

Seeing a process like “winlogon.exe” or “msmpeng.exe” that takes over 70% of their hardware power says nothing to them, and googling will likely show that these processes are the part of Windows. However, there are no situations where these processes can take this much of CPU power. There are several exclusions, apparently, but they are very rare and most likely such a situation means you have a coin miner malware in your system.

Typical signs of coin miner virus running in your system

  • High CPU or GPU load that is present regardless of your actions on the PC;
  • A system process present in the user's process tree;
  • Inability to fix the situation with reboots, i.e. CPU load appears as soon as the computer starts;
  • Microsoft Defender is turned off;

Nonetheless, the best way to be sure if you have exactly this problem is to use antivirus software. You can guess, of course, and the chance to be right may be pretty high, but at that situation bearing upon a chance is not an option. Specialised software that has several detection systems will definitely show all the details of what is going on, and remove the intruder if such is present.

How to Protect PC From CoinMiner Malware?

Coin Miners are not that easy to predict and remove, as their spreading waves rarely correspond to other malware activity. This malware kind rather orient at cryptocurrency values - and they are way less predictable than different malicious software. Hence, you should expect new tricks and methods with the other wave of crypto rush.

The best way to nail the risks is to avoid the possible sources of malware. Sure, you cannot forbid the use of its main source - the Internet - but surely can stop visiting the dangerous places and using software that can possibly deal damage to your system is what you should keep away from. Warez sites that offer cracked versions of popular apps, forums or Discord communities that share hand-made tools, email letters from unknown senders - they should not be trusted. Even if you are confident that this source does not spread malicious things, it is better to check it up before installation - you can never be sure if the next thing won’t be malicious.

The ultimate method, which should still act as a last argument, is an effective anti-malware software with proactive protection. With less complicated apps, you can definitely detect the already running coin miner malware, but proactive protection can stop it even before it can do even a thing. And remember that coin miner viruses can easily act as spyware – and giving it more time to act means publishing all your personal details. GridinSoft Anti-Malware will make everything as it should be - quickly and not giving malware even a chance.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do you know if your computer is being used for cryptocurrency mining?
The main sign of being infected with coin miner malware is an extremal slowness of your system. Since malware miners aim at exploiting your CPU, it makes the system sluggish, as it cannot handle the regular tasks with a proper speed. Coin miner malware leaves only 10-15% of processor power to let the system run, and the user’s tasks are out of the deal. You can see an auxiliary sign of malware presence - but it is almost the same for any malware process. This one will probably have a dubious name or the name that repeats the one of a system process. However, system processes rarely take over 80% of CPU power - so a process of this quality belongs to malware.
How do you scan for miners?
Try removing the coin miner malware by hand is a bad idea. Sure, you may have success, but it will be wiped out in a couple of hours when the malware remnants you’ve likely missed will contact the C&C and download the malware back. Hence, getting a proper anti-malware solution is better for dealing with problems quickly and completely. GridinSoft Anti-Malware will be best for that purpose, as it can detect coin miners in both proactive modes and during the scans.
How do you prevent cryptocurrency mining?
The main way malware miners spread these days is spam emails. Crooks disguise their messages as genuine notifications, attach the infected file, and victims eat the bait and get their computers infected. Thus, being very careful with emails, particularly their attachments, will help you avoid the miner malware.