Was ist Adware? Adware-Definition und Beispiele

Wie erkennt man Adware, widersteht ihr und verhindert, dass l√§stige Programme Ihren PC √ľberschwemmen? Wir untersuchen verschiedene Arten von Adware, um sie effektiv zu bek√§mpfen.

Sie könnten daran interessiert sein, einen Blick auf unsere anderen Antivirus-Tools zu werfen:
Trojan Killer, Trojan Scanner.

Adware - Was ist das und wie wird es entfernt? Bewahren Sie Ihre Privatsphäre gut | Gridinsoft

Was ist Adware?

October 02, 2022

Oh, warum erscheint diese Anzeige immer wieder? Und es gibt noch mehr davon! Blinkend, mit den absurden Inhalten und 100% gef√§lschten Angeboten, f√ľllen sie Ihren Browser so stark, dass Sie es sogar auf der Startseite sehen. Welche Art von Fluch tut das?

Adware ist buchst√§blich Werbesoftware. Diese Art von Programm wird erstellt, um Ihnen die Werbung zwangsweise anzuzeigen. Zu diesem Zweck nehmen Viren mehrere √Ąnderungen an Ihrem System vor ‚Äď haupts√§chlich in den Webbrowsern und Netzwerkeinstellungen.

Netzwerke in Windows werden teilweise von der HOSTS-Datei gesteuert. Diese Datei wird in der Systempartition gespeichert und enth√§lt die Informationen √ľber DNS-Server, die sie mit dem ben√∂tigten Server verbinden muss. Normalerweise werden alle Seiten, die von Adware verwendet werden, um Ihnen die Werbung anzuzeigen, von innen abgeschirmt, um zu verhindern, dass diese Seiten von einem Webbrowser gesperrt werden. Wenn Sie Ihre HOSTS-Datei bearbeiten lassen, verbindet sich Ihr PC mit einer DNS-Adresse des Adware-Servers, die f√ľr die Verbindungen nicht blockiert ist.

Die Browsereinstellungen werden aus mehreren Gr√ľnden ge√§ndert. Erstens k√∂nnen Viren Ihre Homepage so √§ndern, dass sie mehreren Anzeigen entspricht. Eine weitere m√∂gliche √Ąnderung ist die Sperrung Ihres Einstellungsfensters. Dies ist besonders relevant, wenn Adware als Browser-Plugin verbreitet wird. Diese Aktion wird durchgef√ľhrt, um das Zur√ľcksetzen des Webbrowsers zu verhindern - eine ultimative M√∂glichkeit, unerw√ľnschte Browser-Plug-ins zu entfernen.

Wie funktioniert eine Adware

Adware funktioniert, indem sie sich unbemerkt auf Ihrem PC installiert und hofft, dass Sie ‚Äď versehentlich oder nicht ‚Äď auf eine angezeigte Werbung klicken. Dies liegt daran, dass Adware schlie√ülich dazu da ist, Geld zu verdienen (aber nicht f√ľr Sie). Adware-Ersteller und -Vertriebsanbieter verdienen Geld mit Drittparteien √ľber entweder:


Pay-per-Click (PPC)Adware-Entwickler werden jedes Mal bezahlt, wenn Sie Anzeigen öffnen.
Pay-per-View (PPV)Sie werden jedes Mal bezahlt, wenn Ihnen Werbung gezeigt wird.
Pay-per-Install (PPI)Sie werden jedes Mal bezahlt, wenn geb√ľndelte Software auf einem Computer installiert wird.

Adware kann auch Ihren Such- und Browserverlauf verfolgen, um Anzeigen anzuzeigen, die f√ľr Sie relevanter sind. Sobald der Adware-Entwickler Ihren Standort und Ihren Browserverlauf hat, kann er einen zus√§tzlichen Gewinn erzielen, indem er Ihre Informationen an Dritte verkauft.

Entwickler, die Adware verwalten, verdienen ihr Geld wie alle anderen Werbetreibenden. Es gibt zwei Hauptunterschiede zwischen Adware-Distributoren und legitimen Promotern: die Personen, die diese Anzeigen bestellen und wie diese Banner bezahlt werden. In der Regel werden Promoter f√ľr jeden Klick auf ihre Anzeige bezahlt. In der Zwischenzeit schlie√üen Betr√ľger Vertr√§ge f√ľr Pay-per-View-Anzeigen ab. Der Preis f√ľr jeden Besucher ist minimal, aber wenn Sie ihn einer gro√üen Anzahl von Opfern gewaltsam zeigen, ist es nicht kompliziert, Tausende von Dollar zu verdienen.

Adware-Mechanismus

Der Unterschied in einem Charakter ist viel einfacher zu verstehen. Wird das seri√∂se Unternehmen mit unlegitimen Marketingtricks f√ľr sich werben? Wahrscheinlich nein. Daher zwingt Sie alle Anzeigen-Adware dazu, sch√§dliche Inhalte zu sehen. Normalerweise handelt es sich bei diesen Inhalten um Links, die Sie auf die unbekannte und wahrscheinlich unerw√ľnschte Website umleiten. In einigen F√§llen kann der Download beginnen, nachdem Sie auf diese Anzeigen geklickt haben. Und nur Betr√ľger wissen, was das Programm herunterl√§dt. M√∂glicherweise erhalten Sie Coin Miner, eine andere Adware, einen Browser-Hijacker oder √§hnliches. Unabh√§ngig von der genauen Art der Malware handelt es sich immer um eine unerw√ľnschte Folge.

Wie bekomme ich Adware?

Es ist eine der am weitesten verbreiteten Arten von Malware. Sie k√∂nnen es auf etwa ein Dutzend Arten erhalten. Adware wird durch Malvertising als Browser-Plug-in als Teil des ‚Äěn√ľtzlichen Dienstprogramms‚Äú verbreitet, das Sie gerade installiert haben. M√∂glicherweise stellen Sie fest, dass Ihr System infiziert ist, selbst nachdem Sie einige Seeding-Anwendungen wie uTorrent verwendet haben. Jeden Tag entdecken Betr√ľger weitere unauff√§llige Wege, um in Ihren Computer einzudringen. Und es gibt keinen Grund f√ľr Sie, sich schuldig zu f√ľhlen - fast jeder muss manchmal fragw√ľrdige Programme verwenden. Und Adware ist nicht so gef√§hrlich, wenn Sie sie rechtzeitig entfernen.

Wie schlimm kann Adware sein?

Adware ist selbst nicht sehr gef√§hrlich. Es nimmt zu kleine √Ąnderungen an Ihrem System vor, um genau nach der Virusinjektion zu einer Fehlfunktion zu f√ľhren. Wenn Sie es jedoch unangemessen entfernen und diese √Ąnderungen nicht beheben, werden Sie wahrscheinlich verschiedene Fehler in Ihrem Webbrowser beobachten. Einige Probleme k√∂nnen aufgrund der ge√§nderten Netzwerkeinstellungen auch in verschiedenen Apps mit Web-Oberfl√§che auftreten.

Viel mehr Probleme k√∂nnen durch die Adware-Werbung gel√∂st werden. Wie Sie bereits gelesen haben, wird kein seri√∂ses Unternehmen einem Werbevertrag mit Adware-Distributoren zustimmen. Daher kann jede Anzeige etwas B√∂sartiges enthalten, und Sie wissen nie, welches und wie gef√§hrlich dieses ‚ÄěEtwas‚Äú ist. Potenziell unerw√ľnschte Programme, zusammen mit Browser-Hijackern, werden Ihre Dateien nicht verschl√ľsseln, wie zum Beispiel Ransomware, aber es bringt Chaos auf Ihren PC. Unterdessen macht die Trojan-Miner-Aktivit√§t Ihr System unbrauchbar und kann sogar zu Hardwareausf√§llen f√ľhren.

Symptome von Adware

Da Adware im Wesentlichen Werbebanner auf Sie wirft, bleibt die Infektion Ihres Ger√§ts mit dem umstrittenen Sch√§dling nicht unbemerkt. Ein solches Eindringen in Ihr System w√§re das komplette Versagen der schwarzen Werbetreibenden, wenn Sie die Pr√§senz der Adware √ľberhaupt nicht bemerken w√ľrden. Hier listen wir die erkennbaren Anzeichen daf√ľr auf, dass Ihr Ger√§t Adware enth√§lt und eine schnelle Abhilfe erfordert.

  • Startseite ge√§ndert. Eines der ersten Anzeichen daf√ľr, dass etwas nicht stimmt, ist, dass sich die Startseite Ihres Webbrowsers ohne Benachrichtigung √§ndert. Au√üerdem handelt es sich bei dem Seitenset stattdessen um eine verd√§chtig aussehende Werbeseite, die Sie noch nie zuvor gesehen haben. H√∂chstwahrscheinlich werden Ihre Versuche, Ihre vorherige Homepage zu bringen, fehlschlagen.
  • Suchmaschine ge√§ndert. In den Einstellungen Ihres Browsers k√∂nnen Sie eine Standardsuchmaschine ausw√§hlen. Der Browser verwendet es, wenn Sie Ihre Anfrage in die Adressleiste eingeben. Adware ist h√§ufig f√ľr automatische und unbefugte √Ąnderungen an der Standardsuchmaschine Ihres Browsers und f√ľr die √Ąnderung von Suchergebnissen (nat√ľrlich durch das Einf√ľgen von Werbung) verantwortlich.
  • Das ungew√∂hnliche Aussehen Ihres Webbrowsers. Adware kommt oft als Add-on f√ľr Ihren Browser, als Browser-Hijacker oder in Form eines betr√ľgerischen Browsers vor ‚Äď ein v√∂llig anderes Programm, das automatisch zugewiesen wird Ihr Standardbrowser. Das Auftauchen einer Browser-Toolbar, ganz zu schweigen von einem anderen Browser, an dessen Installation Sie sich nicht erinnern, ist das deutlichste Anzeichen einer Adware-Infektion.
  • Banner und Popup-Fenster. Werbebanner, die vom Bildschirm auf Sie geworfen werden, sind die h√§ufigste Adware-Nutzlast. Die Anzeigen unterscheiden sich im Grad der Bel√§stigung. Einige erscheinen links und rechts auf der angezeigten Webseite, was die Leistung Ihres Ger√§ts nur verringert, w√§hrend andere die Sichtbarkeit der Webseite, die Sie anzeigen m√∂chten, eklatant behindern k√∂nnen. Au√üerdem sind einige Anzeigen an Ihren Browser gebunden und erscheinen nur darin, w√§hrend einige Arten von Adware Popup-Fenster mit Links zu den Werbeseiten generieren k√∂nnen, ohne dass der Browser √ľberhaupt l√§uft.
  • Hypertext-Links, wo sie nicht sein sollten. Diese Adware-Technik ist eine der kniffligsten und daher auch die gef√§hrlichste. Sollte es von einem Standard-Bannerschauer begleitet werden, wird das Opfer die Infektion vor den schwerwiegenden Folgen erkennen. Aber wenn die von Adware generierten Hypertext-Links allein erscheinen, ist es schwierig, sie von den Links zu unterscheiden, die Websites innewohnen.
  • Verringerung der Ger√§teleistung. Dazu geh√∂ren eine Verringerung der CPU-Laufgeschwindigkeit und eine langsamere Internetverbindungsgeschwindigkeit. Die durch Adware verursachte Verz√∂gerung kann von geringf√ľgigem Einfrieren bis zu Programmabst√ľrzen reichen. Je schlechter die Gesamtleistung Ihres Ger√§ts ist, desto h√∂her ist die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass Adware mit Spyware oder anderer versteckter Malware ausgestattet ist oder mit ihr zusammenarbeitet.

Wie man Adware vermeidet und entfernt

Nicht jede Adware ist Malware. Einige davon sind mit legitimer Software verpackt, und auf vielen neuen Computern ist verschiedene Adware installiert. Wenn Sie einen neuen PC bekommen, k√∂nnen Sie die Liste der installierten Programme in den Einstellungen √ľberpr√ľfen, um zu sehen, ob unerw√ľnschte Software mit dem Computer geliefert wird.

Wenn Ihr PC neu ist, besteht eine andere Strategie darin, ihn auf eine Neuinstallation von Windows zur√ľckzusetzen. Durch das Zur√ľcksetzen des Computers auf die Werkseinstellungen k√∂nnen alle Apps von Drittanbietern einschlie√ülich installierter Adware entfernt werden.

Wenn Sie Adware auf einem vorhandenen Computer erwerben, k√∂nnen Sie sie manuell √ľber ‚ÄěProgramme hinzuf√ľgen oder entfernen‚Äú in den ‚ÄěEinstellungen‚Äú deinstallieren, aber nur, wenn Sie eindeutig feststellen k√∂nnen, welches Programm auf Ihrem PC die Ursache der Spyware ist. Wenn dies nicht m√∂glich ist, sollten Sie unsere Anti-Malware installieren. Dieses Antivirus-Tool eignet sich hervorragend zum Identifizieren und Entfernen von Adware und Spyware.

Der beste Ansatz ist nat√ľrlich die Vorbeugung ‚Äď von vornherein zu vermeiden, sich mit Spyware zu infizieren. Hier sind einige einfache Schritte, die Sie unternehmen k√∂nnen, um zu verhindern, dass Spyware auf Ihren PC gelangt:

  • Halten Sie Ihren Computer mit den neuesten Windows-Updates auf dem neuesten Stand.
  • Verwenden Sie Anti-Malware-Software. Sie sollten sich vergewissern, dass Ihr Computer durch Anti-Malware- oder Antiviren-Software gesch√ľtzt ist, auch wenn es sich dabei nur um das in Windows 10 oder Windows 11 integrierte Sicherheitstool handelt. Unsere Anti-Malware-Software ist jedoch effektiver beim Aufsp√ľren von Adware.
  • Klicken Sie niemals auf etwas, dem Sie nicht vollst√§ndig vertrauen. Dazu geh√∂ren sowohl Links als auch Dateianh√§nge in E-Mails. Das gilt auch f√ľr Links und Dateidownloads auf Webseiten von fragw√ľrdiger Qualit√§t.
  • Vermeiden Sie die Installation kostenloser Software aus fragw√ľrdigen Quellen. Sie k√∂nnen viele kostenlose Dienstprogramme online finden, die mithilfe von Telemetrie Einnahmen erzielen, die manchmal auf der Webseite oder in der Lizenzvereinbarung angegeben werden, wenn Sie sie installieren.

What is Adware? Adware Definition & Examples

How to recognize adware, resist it and prevent annoying programs from flooding your PC? We research different types of adware to counter them effectively.

You may be interested in taking a look at our other antivirus tools:
Trojan Killer, Trojan Scanner.

Adware - What Is It & How To Remove It? Keep Your Privacy Well | Gridinsoft

What is Adware?

GRIDINSOFT TEAM
Oh, why do this ad appear again and again? And there are even more of them! Blinking, with the absurd contents and 100% fake offers, they fill your browser so hard that you see it even on the home page. Which sort of curse does so?

Adware is, literally, advertising software. That sort of program is created to show you the advertisements forcibly. To do so, viruses make several changes to your system - primarily in the web browsers and networking settings.

Networking in Windows is partially controlled by the HOSTS file. That file is kept in the system partition and contains the information about DNS servers it must connect to the server you need. Usually, all pages used by adware to show you the ads are shielded from the inside to prevent those pages from being banned by a web browser. When you get your HOSTS file edited, your PC connects to one DNS address of the adware’s server, which is not blocked for the connections.

Browser settings are changed for several reasons. First, viruses can change your homepage to fit several advertisements. Another possible change is the blockage of your settings window. It is especially relevant when adware is spread as a browser plugin. This action is done to prevent the web browser reset - an ultimate way to eliminate unwanted browser plugins.

How does an adware work

Adware works by quietly installing itself onto your PC, hoping you’ll – accidentally or not – click on an advert it displays. This is because, after all, adware exists to make money (but not for you). Adware creators and distributing vendors make money from third parties via either:


Pay-per-click (PPC)Adware developers get paid each time you open ads.
Pay-per-view (PPV)They get paid each time ads are shown to you.
Pay-per-install (PPI)They get paid each time bundled software is installed on a computer.

Adware can also track your search and browsing history to display ads that are more relevant to you. Once the adware developer has your location and browser history, they can make an additional profit by selling your information to third parties.

Developers who manage adware make their money like any other advertisers. There are two main differences between adware distributors and legit promoters: the people who order these ads and how those banners are paid. Usually, promoters are paid for each click on their advertisement. Meanwhile, fraudsters take contracts for pay-per-view ads. The price for each visitor is minimal, but when you show it forcibly to a massive number of victims - there is nothing complicated to earning thousands of dollars.

Adware mechanism

The difference in a character is much easier to understand. Will the legit company advertise itself with unlegit marketing tricks? Likely no. Hence, all ads adware forces you to see contain malicious content. Usually, those contents are links that redirect you to the unknown and likely unwanted site. In some cases, the downloading may start after clicking those ads. And only fraudsters know what the program is downloading. You may get coin miner, another adware, browser hijacker, or so. Regardless of the exact type of malware, it always is an unwanted consequence.

How can I get adware?

It is one of the most widespread types of malware. You can get it in about a dozen ways. Adware is spread through the malvertising, as a browser plugin, as a part of the “useful utility” you have just installed. You may discover that your system is infected even after using some seeding applications, like uTorrent. Every day, fraudsters discover more unobvious ways to get into your computer. And there is no reason for you to feel guilty - almost everyone sometimes needs to use questionable programs. And adware is not so dangerous if you remove it in time.

How bad adware can be?

Adware is not very dangerous itself. It makes too small changes to your system to make it malfunction exactly after the virus injection. However, if you remove it inappropriately and will not fix those changes, you will likely spectate various bugs in your web browser. Some problems may also appear in various apps with web-interface because of the modified networking settings.

Much more problems may be dealt with by the advertisements adware shows. As you read earlier, no legit companies will agree to an advertising contract with adware distributors. Hence, each ad can contain something malicious, and you never know which one and how dangerous this “something” is. Potentially unwanted programs, together with browser hijackers, will not make your files encrypted, like ransomware, for example, but it will bring chaos to your PC. Meanwhile, the trojan-miner activity will make your system impossible to use and may even lead to hardware failures.

Symptoms of Adware

Since the essence of adware is to throw advertisement banners at you, your device's infection with the disputed pest will not pass unnoticed. Such a penetration into your system would be the black advertisers' complete failure if you didn't notice the adware's presence at all. Here we list the recognizable signs of your device having adware and requiring a quick remedy.

  • Changed homepage. One of the first signs that something is wrong is that your web browser's homepage changes without any notification. Moreover, the page set instead is some suspiciously-looking advertising site you've never seen before. Most likely, your attempts to bring your previous homepage will be failing.
  • Changed search engine. Your browser's settings allow you to choose a default search engine. The browser will use it when you input your query into the address bar. Adware is often responsible for automatic and unauthorized changes to your browser's default search engine and alteration of search results (by advertising insertion, of course).
  • The unusual look of your web browser. Adware often comes as an add-on for your browser, a browser hijacker, or in the form of a rogue browser - a completely different program automatically assigned as your default browser. So, the emergence of a browser toolbar, let alone another browser you don't remember to install, is the clearest sign of adware infection.
  • Banners and pop-up windows. Advertisement banners thrown at you from the screen are the most common adware payload. The ads differ in the level of annoyance. Some appear to the left and right on the viewed webpage, which only decreases your device's performance, while others can flagrantly obstruct the visibility of the webpage you are trying to view. Besides, some ads are tied to your browser and only appear within it, while some kinds of adware can generate pop-up windows with links to the advertising pages without the browser even running.
  • Hypertext links where they're not supposed to be. This adware technique is one of the trickiest and, therefore - the most dangerous. Should it be accompanied by a standard banner shower, the victim will detect the infection before the grave consequences. But if the adware-generated hypertext links appear alone, it is hard to tell them from the links inherent to websites.
  • Decrease in device performance. It includes a CPU running speed decrease and a slower Internet connection speed. Adware-inflicted deceleration may range from minor freezings to program crashes. The worse the overall performance of your device is, the higher the probability of adware being fitted with or working alongside spyware or other covert malware.

How to avoid adware and remove it

Not all adware is malware. Some of it is packaged with legitimate software, and many new computers come with various adware installed. If you get a new PC, you can check the list of installed programs in the settings to see if any unwanted software accompanies the computer.

If your PC is new, another strategy is to reset it to a fresh install of Windows. By resetting the computer to factory conditions, it can remove all third-party apps, including any installed adware.

If you acquire adware on an existing computer, you can manually uninstall it using "Add or Remove Programs" in "Settings", but only if you can definitively identify which program on your PC is the cause of the spyware. If you can't, then you might want to install our anti-malware. This antivirus tool is adept at identifying and removing adware & spyware.

The best approach, of course, is prevention — avoiding getting infected with spyware, to begin with. So here are some easy steps you can take to avoid getting spyware on your PC:

  • Keep your computer up to date with the latest Windows updates.
  • Use anti-malware software. You should be sure your computer is protected by anti-malware or antivirus software, even if that's just the security tool built into Windows 10 or Windows 11. Our anti-malware software will be more effective at ferreting out adware, though.
  • Never click anything you don't fully trust. That includes both links and file attachments in email. That's also true about links and file downloads on websites of questionable quality.
  • Avoid installing free software from questionable sources. You can find many free utilities online that generate revenue using telemetrics, which is sometimes disclosed on the web page or in the license agreement when you install it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is adware always tied to your web browser?
Actually, no! Modern adware most often is, but there is a type of malware, initially called 'adware,' that has no binding to browsers or any other visible applications. It shows as a process in Task Manager, initiated by some hard-to-detect executable, but you will not see it in the list of running apps. The effects of such a program, running in the background, are common for adware: pop-up windows, panels, banners, etc. Moreover, other programs, besides browsers, can be classified as adware regardless of whether they are malicious.
Is adware strictly speaking malware?
Definitely, there are programs that are called adware, but they have nothing to do with malware at all. These are countless benign applications that are adware in terms of their payback method: these programs are free, but they render ads for developers to profit. That is totally legit. As for adware that is overtly unwanted, experts disagree regarding its classification. Some specialists call such adware PUA, Potentially Unwanted Applications, explaining that if a program does not do open harm (financial, informational, reputational, etc.), it cannot be called malware. Their opponents note that adware behaves malevolently, neglecting users' convenience and wishes. 'Harm' is a term with a broad concept scope, after all.
How to remove adware without an antivirus? Is it safe?
You can remove the adware yourself in many cases. To do it, go to Windows' Programs and Features (you can type this section name right into the search bar,) choose the adware program from the list, and press Uninstall. If you are dealing with a browser plug-in, you can remove it in your browser's settings. The path varies throughout browsers, but it is roughly such: Main Menu -Settings - Extensions. Select the troublesome extension and press Remove. However, the pest often takes self-preservation measures. It can freeze the browser as you open its settings so that you don't delete an annoying extension easily. Moreover, if adware comes as a stand-alone program, it may not always be clear about its title. So you have to be sure which program exactly you wish to delete. Finally, you might run onto sneaky adware. In such a case, you will need to detect a foreign process, remove an executable file responsible for it, and you will also have to check for an automatic downloader that might still be present on your machine. The latter will download the adware again, no matter how many times you wipe it out. For such cases, an antivirus program is the best solution. As for the safety of such procedures, the only harm you can do is accidentally remove a benign program. Also, some downloaded applications may cease working after you delete their adware component.
Can there be adware undetectable to antiviruses?
Theoretically, it is possible. No antivirus can recognize every single malicious program. Security software only detects objects included in its algorithms - and nothing more. Solutions featuring neural networks and heuristic engines are not an exclusion, for they also work following certain settings. And if hackers detour those settings, they can potentially create undetectable malware. It can be adware, ransomware, whatever. The good news is that it is unlikely that someone would get busy creating such an elusive example of adware. The existing adware is constantly installed and removed by thousands of users, and the agencies that spread it still get their reward.
My browser is infected with adware, but I cannot access its settings! What should I do?
GridinSoft Anti-Malware has a Reset Browser Settings function for such cases. To perform it, click the Tools menu tab and select the Reset Browser Settings option. Choose browsers you want to reset and items that need to be back to default mode. Click Reset. That's all! You might want to reinstall the good browser extensions, but at least you won't be suffering from an unwanted program.