Was ist eine Backdoor? Definition, Beispiele, Backdoor-Angriffe

Eine Backdoor ist eine Technik, bei der ein Systemsicherheitsmechanismus unbemerkt umgangen wird, um auf einen Computer zuzugreifen. Beispielsweise können nicht autorisierte Benutzer mit einem Backdoor-Trojaner bestimmte Sicherheitsmaßnahmen umgehen und Benutzerzugriff auf hoher Ebene auf einen Computer, ein Netzwerk oder eine Software erhalten.

Sie könnten daran interessiert sein, einen Blick auf unsere anderen Antivirus-Tools zu werfen:
Trojan Killer, Trojan Scanner.

Was ist Backdoor? So verhindern Sie Backdoor-Angriffe (2023) | Gridinsoft

Was ist Backdoor?

October 02, 2022

Ist eine Backdoor nicht der beste Weg, um in jemandes Haus einzubrechen und ein Fahrrad zu stehlen? Dasselbe gilt f√ľr Computer. Nichts kann so effektiv sein f√ľr Datendiebstahl, das Einschleusen von Malware aus der Ferne und andere unkoordinierte Aktionen.

Backdoors sind eine gro√üe Unterart von Viren, die in den letzten 10 Jahren f√ľr verschiedene Ziele verwendet wurden. Nat√ľrlich tauchten die Malware-Beispiele, die angeblich die gleichen Funktionen wie Backdoors hatten, noch fr√ľher auf, aber niemand hat sie genau als Backdoors klassifiziert. Backdoors sind von Natur aus universelle Malware, die sich von Fall zu Fall unterschiedlich verhalten kann. Daher hier die Erkl√§rung, warum ein einzelner Virus so allm√§chtig sein kann.

Hierarchie der Schutzringe
Schutzringe in der CPU

Der Backdoor-Virus integriert sich intensiv in das System des Opfers. Im Gegensatz zu den meisten anderen Viren schleusen sich Backdoors als Treiber in den Computer ein. Gem√§√ü dem hierarchischen Ringsystem befinden sich Treiber auf Ring 2 und werden mit einer h√∂heren Priorit√§t als das Betriebssystem ausgef√ľhrt. Alles, was auf Ring 2 l√§uft, kann alle Prozesse steuern, die sich auf Ring 3 und Ring 4 befinden, wo OS und installierte Software laufen. Die Integration eines Virus auf einer so tiefen Ebene bedeutet daher, die Kontrolle √ľber das gesamte System zu erlangen. Backdoors sind nur ein Beispiel f√ľr ein Dutzend anderer Viren die diese F√§higkeit ausnutzen. Ein perfektes Beispiel f√ľr eine Riskware, die sich auf Treiberebene integriert, ist ein Mimikatz-Hacktool.

Was können Backdoors also tun?

Haben Sie jemals gesehen, dass sich Ihr Mauszeiger ohne Ihren Befehl bewegt? Sie haben dies getan, w√§hrend Sie dem Systemadministrator erlaubt haben, Ihren Computer √ľber ein Fernzugriffstool einzurichten. Stellen Sie sich dann vor, dass sich jemand ohne Ihre Absicht mit Ihrem PC verbinden und tun kann, was er will. Hacker k√∂nnen jede auf Ihrem Computer gespeicherte Datei abrufen, jeden Prozess anhalten und starten - er kann sich wie ein PC-Besitzer f√ľhlen. In einigen F√§llen k√∂nnen Cyberkriminelle Ihren PC sogar aus der Ferne starten, sodass Sie ihn nicht einmal selbst einschalten m√ľssen.

Daher k√∂nnen Betr√ľger, die den Virus kontrollieren, Ihren Computer aus der Ferne verwalten, wie sie wollen. Es gibt kein genaues Szenario, wie die Situation sein wird. Backdoors, insbesondere die leichtgewichtigen Varianten von Backdoors, werden h√§ufig verwendet, um das Botnetz zu entfalten. Computer, die mit dem Backdoor-Virus infiziert sind, laufen in einem sogenannten ‚ÄěZombie-Modus‚Äú: Sie werden wie gewohnt von ihren wirklichen Besitzern verwendet, bis sie einen Befehl vom Kontrollserver erhalten. Dann starten diese Maschinen Spamming oder DDoS-Angriffe, wobei sie das Konto ihres rechtm√§√üigen Besitzers als Tarnung verwenden. Sie werden sicherlich √ľberrascht sein, dass Sie auf Websites oder Online-Foren gebannt werden, die Sie noch nie besucht haben.

Die F√§higkeit, einen Computer zu verwenden, erm√∂glicht es Ihnen, die gew√ľnschten Programme zu installieren. Daher verwenden Cyber-Einbrecher h√§ufig die derzeit aktive Backdoor, um verschiedene andere Malware in Ihr System einzuschleusen. Das bedeutet nicht, dass jeder Backdoor-Fall zu einer weiteren Vireninjektion f√ľhrt, aber die M√∂glichkeit besteht immer.

Backdoor-Angriffe im Jahr 2023:



Wie funktioniert der Backdoor-Virus?

Wie Sie bereits feststellen k√∂nnen, haben alle Backdoors √§hnliche Details mit Remote-Verwaltungstools. Genau, einige der illegalen Remote-Tools werden von Antivirenprogrammen als Backdoor erkannt. Sie gew√§hren den Personen, die sie kontrollieren, Zugriff, tun dies jedoch anders als Remote-Administrationstools. Malware verwendet Exploits in verschiedenen Systemelementen, um diese Aktion auszuf√ľhren. Leider ist Windows voller verschiedener Sicherheitsl√ľcken, sodass Gauner in Ihr System eindringen k√∂nnen, selbst wenn Sie die letzten Sicherheitspatches installiert haben.

Nach der Injektion passt die Backdoor das System an, um die ‚ÄěUmgebung‚Äú f√ľr die zuk√ľnftige Nutzung angenehmer zu gestalten. Zu diesem Zweck f√ľgt der Virus eine bestimmte Verbindung hinzu, indem er den Befehl √ľber die Befehlszeile sendet, √§ndert Registrierungsschl√ľssel und modifiziert die Sicherheitseinstellungen. W√§hrend der erste Akt recht einfach zu verstehen ist, sind Registrierungsschl√ľssel√§nderungen und Sicherheits√§nderungen Dinge, die erkl√§rt werden m√ľssen.

Es gibt eine veraltete Funktion in Windows, mit der Sie die Registrierung vom Remote-Computer aus bearbeiten k√∂nnen. Diese F√§higkeit ist eine perfekte Quelle f√ľr Ausbeutung, sodass Betr√ľger selten vergessen, sie einzuschalten. Die Remote-Bearbeitung der Registrierung erm√∂glicht es den Betr√ľgern, ihre Registrierungsschl√ľssel hinzuzuf√ľgen und die vorhandenen zu bearbeiten, sogar ohne in den Fernzugriffsmodus zu wechseln - sie k√∂nnen eine Eingabeaufforderung verwenden.

Sicherheit ist einer der am st√§rksten angreifbaren Teile von Windows. W√§hrend die meisten Antivirenprogramme nur Apps sind, ist Microsoft Defender ein tief integrierter Bestandteil des Systems. Das Betriebssystem verwaltet es durch die in Gruppenrichtlinien festgelegten Regeln. Er kann durch diese Einstellungen mit mehreren Klicks deaktiviert werden, und Virenersteller wissen um diese F√§higkeit. Malware hindert den Defender daran, den Alarm zu verhindern ‚Äď ein eingebettetes Antivirus verf√ľgt √ľber recht gute Erkennungsdatenbanken, obwohl es √§u√üerst unzuverl√§ssig ist. Eines Tages stellen Sie vielleicht fest, dass Ihr Defender ‚Äěschl√§ft‚Äú und nichts ihn aufwecken kann.

Kann ich den Backdoor-Virus selbst erkennen?

Sie werden kaum verstehen, ob Ihr Computer infiziert ist, wenn die Backdoor gut entworfen und richtig verwendet wird. Die einzige Chance besteht, wenn sich die Kriminellen, die den Virus verwalten, mit Ihrem PC verbinden und Aktionen starten. Sie werden sehen, wie sich die Konsolenfenster chaotisch √∂ffnen, sich der Zeiger bewegt und Apps ohne Ihre Absicht ge√∂ffnet werden. In den meisten F√§llen warten Betr√ľger jedoch eine Woche, bevor sie einen frisch infizierten Computer f√ľr ihre Zwecke verwenden. Durch diesen Begriff sammeln sie Informationen √ľber die Aktivit√§tsstunden des Benutzers, dem dieser PC geh√∂rt.

Wenn wir jedoch √ľber die Backdooren sprechen, die den PC des Opfers in das Botnet einf√ľgen, werden Sie keine Symptome sehen. Diese Viren sind heimlich genug, um gleichzeitig mit der √ľblichen Aktivit√§t zu arbeiten. Das einzige Anzeichen, das Sie erkennen werden, ist wahrscheinlich eine Verlangsamung des PCs. Nichtsdestotrotz schenken die meisten Benutzer der Verlangsamung nicht viel Aufmerksamkeit - sie werden wahrscheinlich Windows die Schuld geben.

Der beste Weg, einen solchen unvorhersehbaren Virus zu erkennen, ist die Verwendung von Anti-Malware-Software. Beispiele wie Microsoft Defender passen aus den genannten Gr√ľnden nicht. Das effektive Erkennen von Backdoor-Viren ist jedoch eine schwierige Aufgabe, und nicht jede Antivirenl√∂sung ist daf√ľr geeignet. Um den besten Schutz zu erhalten, ben√∂tigen Sie wahrscheinlich einen heuristischen Erkennungsmechanismus in Ihrem Sicherheitstool und erhalten so oft wie m√∂glich Updates f√ľr Erkennungsdatenbanken. GridinSoft Anti-Malware kann Ihnen beide Privilegien bieten: seine Datenbanken werden st√ľndlich aktualisiert und es verf√ľgt √ľber eine On-Run-Schutzfunktion, die den heuristischen Mechanismus verwendet, um Malware zu erkennen.

What Is a Backdoor? Definition, Examples, Backdoor Attacks

A backdoor is a technique in which a system security mechanism is bypassed undetectable to access a computer. For example, with a backdoor trojan, unauthorized users can get around specific security measures and gain high-level user access to a computer, network, or software.

You may be interested in taking a look at our other antivirus tools:
Trojan Killer, Trojan Scanner.

What is Backdoor? How to Prevent Backdoor Attacks (2022) | Gridinsoft

What is Backdoor?

GRIDINSOFT TEAM
Isn't a back door the best way to break into someone's house to steal a bike? The same is true for computers. Nothing can be so effective for data stealing, remote malware injection, and other uncoordinated actions.

Backdoors is a big subspecies of viruses, which is used for different targets through the last 10 years. Of course, the malware examples that reportedly had the same functions as backdoors appeared even earlier, but no one classified them exactly as the backdoors. As of their nature, backdoors are universal malware that can act differently from one case to the next. Thus, here is the explanation of how a single virus may be so omnipotent.

Protection rings hierarchy
Protection rings in the CPU

Backdoor virus integrates into the victim’s system intensely. In contrast to most other viruses, backdoors infiltrate the computer as a driver. According to the hierarchical ring system, drivers are located on Ring 2 and executed with a bigger priority than the operating system. Anything which runs on Ring 2 can control all processes that are located on Ring 3 and Ring 4, where OS and installed software run. Hence, integrating a virus on such a deep level means getting control of the whole system. Backdoors are just one example of a dozen other viruses that exploit that ability. A perfect example of a riskware that integrates itself on a driver level is a Mimikatz hack tool.

So what can backdoors do?

Did you ever see that your mouse pointer moves without your command? You did this while allowing the system administrator to set your computer via a remote-access tool. Then imagine that someone can connect to your PC without your intention and do whatever they want. Hackers can get any file stored on your computer, suspend and start any process - he can feel like a PC owner. In some cases, cybercriminals can even launch your PC remotely, so you must not even turn it on by yourself.

Therefore, fraudsters who control the virus can manage your computer remotely, in the manner they want. There is no strict scenario of how the situation will be. Backdoors, especially the lightweight variants of ones, are often used to unfold the botnet. Computers infected with the backdoor virus are running in a so-called “zombie mode”: they are used as usual by their real owners until they receive a command from the control server. Then, those machines start spamming or DDoS attacks, using the account of their legit owner as a disguise. You will surely be surprised that you are banned on websites or online forums you have never visited.

The ability to use a computer allows you to install the programs you want. Hence, cyber burglars often use the currently active backdoor to inject various other malware into your system. That does not mean that each backdoor case will lead to another virus injection, but the possibility is always there.

Backdoors Attacks in 2022:



How does the backdoor virus work?

As you can already conclude, all backdoors have similar details with remote administration tools. Exactly, some of the illegal remote tools are detected by antiviruses as backdoors. They grant access to the persons who control it but do it differently than remote administration tools do. Malware uses exploits in various system elements to perform this action. Unfortunately, Windows is full of various vulnerabilities, so crooks may break into your system even if you have the last security patches installed.

After being injected, the backdoor adjusts the system to make the “environment” more comfortable for future use. For this purpose, the virus adds a specific connection by sending the command through the command line, changes registry keys, and modifies the security settings. While the first act is quite easy to understand, registry key changes and security changes are things that must be explained.

There is an obsolete feature in Windows which allows you to edit the registry from the remote computer. This ability is a perfect source for exploitation, so fraudsters rarely forget to turn it on. Remote registry editing allows the fraudsters to add their registry keys and edit the existing ones even without entering the remote access mode - they can use a command prompt.

Security is one of the most exploitable parts of Windows. While most antiviruses are just apps, Microsoft Defender is a deeply integrated part of the system. The operating system manages it through the rules set in Group Policies. He can be disabled through these settings in several clicks, and virus creators know about that ability. Malware stops the Defender from preventing the alarm - an embedded antivirus has quite good detection databases, despite being extremely unreliable. One day, you may discover that your Defender is “asleep”, and nothing can wake it up.

Can I detect the backdoor virus by myself?

You will barely understand if your computer is infected when the backdoor is designed well and used properly. The only chance is when the criminals who manage the virus connect to your PC and start actions. You will see the console windows opening chaotically, pointer moves, and apps opening without your intention. But in most cases, fraudsters wait for a week before using a freshly infected computer for their purposes. Through that term, they collect information about the activity hours of the user who owns this PC.

However, if we talk about the backdoors that add the victim’s PC into the botnet, you will see no symptoms. These viruses are stealthy enough to work simultaneously with the usual activity. The only sign you will spot is likely a PC slowdown. Nonetheless, most users do not give a lot of attention to slowing down - they will likely blame Windows.

The best way to detect such an unpredictable virus is to use anti-malware software. Examples like Microsoft Defender do not suit because of the mentioned reasons. However, effectively detecting backdoor viruses is a hard task, and not every antivirus solution is ready. To get the best protection, you will likely need to have a heuristic detection mechanism in your security tool and get updates on detection databases as often as possible. GridinSoft Anti-Malware can offer you both of these privileges: its databases are updated every hour, and it has an On-Run protection feature, which uses the heuristic mechanism to detect malware.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does "Backdoor application" mean?
Backdoor program — a specific malicious program that is created with an intent to gain unauthorized access to the victim's device. The term means the same as just the word "Backdoor". Cybercriminals use this kind of malicious program to get access remotely and then exercise their intended malicious actions. Threat actors can install backdoors both on hardware and software parts of a computer. Most types of backdoor programs exploit IRC backbone and receive their commands from mutual IRC chat clients.
What is the difference between backdoors and trojans?
Trojan virus is a kind of malicious program that pretends to be a legitimate program but instead it will steal the user's sensitive data or will spy on the victim's online activity. To deliver trojans to the victims, threat actors usually employ various social engineering attacks like sending email with a malicious attachment or some free to download file. Backdoor viruses also belong to the trojan malware family. They also get hidden inside legitimate looking programs but once on the victim's device the backdoor will begin conducting its secret malicious activity after gaining primar access to it. Among the various activities it will also include executing commands given from threat actors
What is a website backdoor?
Basically, website backdoors is a hidden entry point in your site that for those who knows about the point it will present with unrestricted and unauthorized access to the resource. Website backdoors are very difficult to detect manually and in fact you can compare the process of finding the website backdoor with trying to find a particular hay in a barn that is full of hay. In other words to explain, website backdoor is a malicious code that can be deep hidden within regular, non malicious code on a site. Apart from this, backdoor malicious code can secretly reside in other different parts of a site. If the malicious problem is left unchecked the site will continue to be vulnerable to various cyber threats.
Do trapdoor and backdoor mean the same thing?
A computer trapdoor is another word for backdoor. Trapdoors can be created for a variety of reasons both legal and illegal. In its essence, trapdoors or backdoors provide secret and in some cases undocumented access to an online service, operating system or application. The use of trapdoors may vary from simple troubleshooting to illegal access.