Was ist ein VPN und was macht es?

VPN (ein virtuelles privates Netzwerk) - ist der Name verschiedener Dienste, die es Ihnen erm√∂glichen, eingehenden und ausgehenden Benutzerdatenverkehr zum Schutz zu verschl√ľsseln, Benutzerdaten zu verbergen und einige dieser Daten zum Vorteil zu √§ndern.

Sie könnten daran interessiert sein, einen Blick auf unsere anderen Antivirus-Tools zu werfen:
Trojan Killer, Trojan Scanner.

Was ist ein VPN? Virtuelles privates Netzwerk | Gridinsoft

Was ist VPN?

October 02, 2022

VPN (Virtual Private Network) - ist der Name verschiedener Dienste, die es Ihnen erm√∂glichen, ein- und ausgehenden Benutzerdatenverkehr zum Schutz zu verschl√ľsseln, Benutzerdaten zu verbergen und einige dieser Daten zum Vorteil zu √§ndern. VPNs haben sowohl Hardware- als auch Softwarekomponenten.

Benutzer ben√∂tigen den Softwareteil und die Verbindung zum Server, auf dem die Hardware arbeitet. Dar√ľber hinaus macht die Echtzeit-Datenverschl√ľsselung das Lesen unm√∂glich. Was ist also eine VPN-Verbindung?

One of the reasons people use VPNs is because they don't trust their ISP. There may well be a suspicion that the provider collects data about its customers and then leaks it for money to third parties. It often happens, especially since even the data that the provider can receive is in great demand. Even the history of visiting sites is enough to target ads by IP addresses. Another option is government censorship, or the ability to access some resources only from certain countries or regions. Briefly explain what VPN on the computer allows you to bypass both restrictions.

Wie funktioniert VPN?

After we figured out a VPN on the computer, let's see how it works. When connecting to a VPN, your browser exchanges public keys with the VPN server and establishes a secure connection with strong encryption. After that, all traffic between the browser and the server is hidden even from your ISP. Then the VPN server, in turn, establishes an encrypted connection with all the sites you intend to visit. Moreover, VPN can present you as a resident of any arbitrary country, assign an IP address, etc.

VPN scheme

Um genauer zu verstehen, was VPN mit Ihrer Verbindung macht, sehen wir uns einige Definitionen im Zusammenhang mit Netzwerken an. Das sind private, öffentliche und lokale IP-Adressen. Sie sehen zwar ähnlich aus, repräsentieren aber zwei verschiedene Teile des Networkings.

Private IP ist die IP-Adresse, die dem Internet-Router gegeben wird, der verwendet wird, um mehrere andere Ger√§te mit dem Internet zu verbinden. Dieser Router kann sowohl ein Netzwerk-Switch als auch ein Wi-Fi-Router sein - er wird gleicherma√üen seine private IP-Adresse haben. Diese Adresse ist wie die interne IP-Adresse, die f√ľr Ihr Heimnetzwerk aktiv und erreichbar ist. Wenn der Router die Anfragen an das Internet sendet, verwendet er eine √∂ffentliche IP.

√Ėffentliche IP-Adressen werden Ihrem Ger√§t (oder h√§ufiger Ihrem Netzwerkrouter) zugewiesen. Es dient als Kennung Ihres Computers/Smartphones f√ľr das breite Internet. Um die Verwendung von Speicherplatzadressen rationeller zu verringern, wurde NAT implementiert. Diese Technologie erm√∂glichte die Vergabe einer einzigen √∂ffentlichen IP-Adresse pro Netzwerk, anstatt sie jedem Ger√§t zuzuweisen. Der Router merkt sich die Reihenfolge der Ger√§te und Standorte, mit denen sie verbunden waren, und liefert die Anfragen abh√§ngig von der lokalen IP der verbundenen Ger√§te zur√ľck.

Lokale IP ist die IP, die Ihrem Ger√§t innerhalb des Netzwerks zugewiesen wird. Genau wie die private IP kann sie nicht von au√üerhalb des Netzwerks erreicht werden ‚Äď bis Sie die Pakete speziell an das Ger√§t senden. Lokale IP-Adressen k√∂nnen sowohl IPv4- als auch IPv6-Format haben.

Das Einzige, was VPN √§ndert, ist Ihre √∂ffentliche IP-Adresse. Es fungiert als Vermittler zwischen Ihrem Router und der Website, zu der Sie eine Verbindung herstellen m√∂chten. Daher denkt die Site, dass Sie sie von einem anderen Ort aus verbunden haben. Und das tun Sie tats√§chlich - vor allem, wenn Sie die Verbindung √ľber den VPN-Server im anderen Land w√§hlen. Das kann Ihnen helfen, die Netzwerkbeschr√§nkungen in Ihrem Land oder auf bestimmten Websites (z. B. das Verbindungsverbot von den IPs eines bestimmten Landes) zu umgehen. Dar√ľber hinaus ist die Tatsache, dass Sie sich mit einem VPN-Server verbinden, das einzige, was Ihr Anbieter √ľber Sie aufzeichnen kann. Ein Server, mit dem Sie sich schlie√ülich verbinden, erh√§lt dank des VPN-Vermittlers falsche Informationen √ľber Sie.

Unterschied zwischen HTTPS und VPN

Jemand mag fragen: Was ist der Unterschied zwischen der Verschl√ľsselung durch VPN und HTTPS (Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure), wo SSL-Zertifikate verwendet werden, um geheime Schl√ľssel zwischen dem Browser und der Website auszutauschen. Der Internetdienstanbieter wird den Benutzerverkehr nicht lesen k√∂nnen, oder? Warum dann VPN verwenden? Was ist eine VPN-Konfiguration?

Obwohl der Mechanismus zum Erstellen eines Verschl√ľsselungstunnels in VPN derselbe sein k√∂nnte, ist der Anwendungsbereich von HTTPS im Falle von HTTPS auf den Browser-Website-Kanal beschr√§nkt. Nur unter HTTPS verbergen Sie Ihre Versuche, auf Websites zuzugreifen, nicht vor dem IPS. Der Anbieter wei√ü, auf welche Websites Sie zugegriffen haben, und kann alle Ihre Aktivit√§ten mit Ausnahme der verschl√ľsselten nachverfolgen. Dar√ľber hinaus wird VPN nicht nur verwendet, um Ihren ausgehenden Datenverkehr vom Anbieter zu sichern. Mit VPN k√∂nnen Sie Daten √ľber Sie vor den Websites, auf denen Sie aktiv sind, verbergen und √§ndern, was angesichts von IPS sogar noch wichtiger ist als der Schutz vor einer hypothetischen Bedrohung.

VPN-Vorteile

  • Schutz durch sichere Verschl√ľsselung ist nur einer der Vorteile, die VPN bietet. Mithilfe eines virtuellen privaten Netzwerks k√∂nnen Sie Daten und Dateien √ľbertragen, ohne bef√ľrchten zu m√ľssen, dass sie von Dritten gelesen werden. Ein Brute-Force-Versuch, den Verschl√ľsselungsschl√ľssel zu knacken, w√ľrde es Dieben erm√∂glichen, die Daten zu lesen, aber sie w√ľrden Milliarden von Jahren brauchen, um sie zu knacken.
  • Ein weiteres wesentliches Merkmal des VPN ist das Verbergen des Standorts und der IP-Adresse des Benutzers. F√ľr einen Server, mit dem sich der Benutzer verbindet, sieht die eingehende Anfrage so aus, als k√§me sie von einem anderen Ort, der tats√§chlich zuf√§llig oder willk√ľrlich ausgew√§hlt wurde. Au√üerdem bereinigen VPN-Dienste normalerweise automatisch die Protokolle der Aktivit√§ten ihrer Clients. Dies ist also eine weitere Schutzebene.
  • Und zu guter Letzt, wenn man bedenkt, dass Sie nicht nur Ihre tats√§chliche Adresse verbergen, sondern auch Ihren scheinbaren Standort ausw√§hlen k√∂nnen (Standort-Spoofing). Ein VPN kann Ihnen Zugriff auf Inhalte gew√§hren, die nur f√ľr Benutzer aus bestimmten Regionen bestimmt sind.
Standort-Spoofing-VPN

Wie kann VPN Ihnen helfen, Firewalls zu umgehen?

Firewalls sind die spezifischen Setups oder Anwendungen die den Internetzugang kontrollieren. Sie k√∂nnen auf verschiedenen Ebenen installiert werden - lokales Netzwerk, ISP oder Server. Die erste kann die Liste der Sites einschr√§nken, zu denen Sie innerhalb dieses Netzwerks eine Verbindung herstellen k√∂nnen, und die externen Verbindungen einschr√§nken. Die Firewall auf ISP-Ebene steuert die Liste der Websites, auf die Sie zugreifen k√∂nnen - solche Einschr√§nkungen werden im Allgemeinen gem√§√ü den Gesetzes√§nderungen festgelegt. Firewalls auf Serverebene kontrollieren die Liste der IP-Adressen, die sich mit dem Server verbinden k√∂nnen - das geschieht, um den unerw√ľnschten Datenverkehr zu minimieren.

Wie kann VPN Ihnen helfen, die Firewall zu durchbrechen? Auf lokaler Netzwerkebene k√∂nnen Sie mit der Firewall nicht viel anfangen. VPN setzt die Verbindung √ľber den Remote-Server eine Ebene √ľber dem Internet-Server-Provider voraus. Die Firewall im lokalen Netzwerk gibt Ihnen jedoch nicht einmal die M√∂glichkeit, eine Anfrage an die verbotene Seite zu stellen. Nichtsdestotrotz ist VPN sehr effektiv gegen die Verbote des Anbieters und der Websites, mit denen Sie sich verbinden m√∂chten. Wenn die VPN-Verbindung hergestellt ist, sieht Ihr ISP nur die Verbindung zum VPN-Server. Nach dieser Verbindung kann der Anbieter die Verbindung zur Site nicht mehr verbieten, da alle Anfragen vom VPN-Anbieter bearbeitet werden.

Der Mechanismus zur Umgehung von IP-Sperren ist viel einfacher. Site-Administratoren verbieten die bestimmte IP oder den Bereich der IP-Adressen - normalerweise diejenigen, die zu einem bestimmten Land geh√∂ren. Eine solche Situation ereignete sich bei russischen Websites, die die Verbindung aus der Ukraine blockierten ‚Äď nach einer Kette von DDoS-Angriffen im M√§rz 2022. Mit einer VPN-Verbindung k√∂nnen Sie Ihre IP-Adresse f√ľr die Websites √§ndern, die Sie verbinden - einschlie√ülich solcher, die Ihre echte IP blockieren.

IPv4 und IPv6 - was ist der Unterschied?

Die aktuellen Internetadressen f√ľhren derzeit zwei Standards gleichzeitig aus. Da es bei diesen beiden Standards darum geht, die virtuelle Adresse Ihrer Maschine im Netzwerk zu markieren, ist eine hybride IPv4/IPv6-Adresse wie zwei ‚ÄěHausnummern‚Äú. Diese paradoxe Situation ist sehr untypisch f√ľr das Internet, wo die Dinge so weit wie m√∂glich standardisiert werden m√ľssen. Wie ist das passiert?

IPv4 ist das erste Adressformat, das 1981 auf den Markt kam. Sie h√§tten diese Adressen als vier Zahlen sehen k√∂nnen, die durch ein Punktsymbol getrennt sind - zum Beispiel 203.31.08.99. Es soll die maximale Anzahl von 232 (4.294.967.296) Ger√§ten im Netzwerk sein. Schon zum Zeitpunkt seiner Implementierung in das ARPANET im Jahr 1982 war ziemlich klar, dass diese Zahl ziemlich bald √ľberschritten werden w√ľrde. Sogar mit einigen Tricks, die es erlaubten, die Geschwindigkeit der Adressraumnutzung zu verringern (NAT zum Beispiel), war es schwierig, das Wachstum des globalen Internets aufzuhalten. Daher wurde 1998 IPv6 als L√∂sung f√ľr dieses Problem vorgeschlagen.

IPv4 IPv6-Entwicklung
Die angezeigte Zeitachse die IPv4- und IPv6-Beziehungen

IPv6 hat einen viel gr√∂√üeren Adressraum und die entsprechenden Verbesserungen im Protokoll aufgrund des vergr√∂√üerten Adressraums. Letzteres von 2^32 auf 2^128 verbessert - ungef√§hr 3,4 √ó 1038 Ger√§te. Obwohl seine Entwicklung 1998 abgeschlossen war, wurde es nicht sofort verwendet. Dank der Ma√ünahmen, die darauf abzielen, die Ersch√∂pfung des IPv4-Adressraums zu verringern, verz√∂gerte sich der Bedarf f√ľr den neuen Raum bis Mitte der 00er Jahre. Dadurch entstand auch eine notwendige Zeitl√ľcke, um die Softwarebasis zu verbessern und die IPv6-Protokollunterst√ľtzung zu allen aktuellen Betriebssystemversionen hinzuzuf√ľgen.

VPN-Funktionen

Wenn Sie sich entschieden haben, VPN zu verwenden, suchen Sie nach einem Dienst, der alle wesentlichen VPN-Funktionen bietet:

  • Verschl√ľsselung der IP-Adresse: Der Hauptzweck der VPN-Nutzung besteht darin, die IP-Adresse des Benutzers zu verbergen.
  • Protokollverschl√ľsselung: Weder Cookies noch der Suchverlauf (oder √§hnliches) sollten unverschl√ľsselt bleiben. Solche indirekten Informationen k√∂nnen viel √ľber den Benutzer aussagen, bis hin zur Unbrauchbarkeit eines VPN.
  • Killswitch: Ein anst√§ndiger VPN-Dienst w√ľrde Ihre Verbindung zu jedem Server, auf den Sie mit seiner Vermittlung zugreifen, im Falle eines Zusammenbruchs der Verbindung mit dem VPN-Server trennen. Der Killswitch verhindert, dass nach dem Ausfall einer VPN-Serververbindung sofort eine "normale" Verbindung aufgebaut wird.
  • Multi-Faktor-Authentifizierung Wie jeder andere Dienst verwendet VPN die Zwei-Faktor-Authentifizierung, um die M√∂glichkeit auszuschlie√üen, dass Cyberkriminelle Ihr VPN-Konto kompromittieren.

VPN-Typen

Hier sind die wichtigsten Arten von VPN-Technologien. Sie haben viel gemeinsam, unterscheiden sich aber in Handlichkeit, Kapazität und Benutzerfreundlichkeit.

SSL-VPN

SSL VPN ist meistens eine VPN-L√∂sung f√ľr Unternehmen, die es allen Benutzern erm√∂glicht, √ľber pers√∂nliche Ger√§te auf Unternehmensdateien und -datenbanken zuzugreifen. Damit dieses Modell funktioniert, sind HTML-5-kompatible Browser auf den Verbindungsger√§ten und eine VPN-Verschl√ľsselung erforderlich, die auf den Router oder einen einzelnen Computer angewendet wird, √ľber den alle Verbindungen verlaufen.

SSL VPN

Site-to-Site-VPN

Ein Site-to-Site VPN ist nicht so flexibel wie SSL VPN, aber es ist eine gute L√∂sung f√ľr gro√üe Unternehmen mit vielen LANs (Local Area Networks), die innerhalb eines WAN (Vast Area Network) Site-to-Site verbunden sind VPN bietet eine sichere Daten√ľbertragung in der gesamten Umgebung.

Client-zu-Server-VPN

Dies ist die h√§ufigste und beliebteste Art von VPN bei Privatpersonen. Der Dienstbereitstellungsserver ist entfernt, und der Benutzer muss nur den Softwareteil installieren. Wenn sich der Benutzer mit dem Server verbindet, wird die sichere Verbindung hergestellt und bis zum Ende der Sitzung aufrechterhalten, wodurch der gesamte Datenverkehr f√ľr potenzielle Abfangj√§ger unlesbar bleibt. Die Software, die auf dem Ger√§t des Benutzers l√§uft, erm√∂glicht die Auswahl der zu f√§lschenden Region und andere Optionen. Die Benutzer von Desktop-Computern und mobilen Ger√§ten k√∂nnen √ľber die richtige Software f√ľr ihre Betriebssysteme von VPN profitieren.

VPN-Implementierungsmethoden

Sie k√∂nnen einen VPN-Client f√ľr sich selbst als Client installieren, ein separates Programm, das Sie starten, bevor Sie mit dem Surfen beginnen. Dies ist jedoch nicht die einzige Option. Alle modernen Browser unterst√ľtzen diese Add-Ons und VPN-Dienstanbieter bieten Erweiterungen zum Herunterladen an.

VPN-Clients f√ľr Mobilger√§te unterscheiden sich nicht von Desktop-Clients, mit Ausnahme ihrer mobilen Benutzeroberfl√§che.

Au√üerdem k√∂nnen die WLAN-Router so konfiguriert werden, dass sie zuerst eine Verbindung zu einem VPN-Server herstellen, bevor sie auf andere Ressourcen zugreifen. Somit k√∂nnen Sie den Datenverkehr aller Ger√§te sch√ľtzen, die √ľber diesen Router mit dem Netzwerk verbunden sind.

Router-VPN-Schutz
Wie bereits hier erw√§hnt, gibt es kundenspezifische L√∂sungen f√ľr gro√üe Unternehmen, die speziell f√ľr bestimmte Arbeitsgruppen konfiguriert sind. Die Hauptaufgabe solcher VPNs besteht darin, Informationslecks zu verhindern und die Bedrohung von Unternehmensdaten durch Mitarbeiter zu beseitigen, die sich mit ihren Ger√§ten mit internen Netzwerken verbinden.

What is a VPN, and What Does It Do?

VPN (a virtual private network) - is the name of various services that allow you to encrypt incoming and outgoing user traffic for protection, hide user data, and alter some of this data for the benefit.

You may be interested in taking a look at our other antivirus tools:
Trojan Killer, Trojan Scanner.

What is a VPN? Virtual Private Network | Gridinsoft

What is VPN?

GRIDINSOFT TEAM
VPN (Virtual Private Network) - is the name of various services that allow you to encrypt incoming and outgoing user traffic for protection, hide user data, and alter some of this data for the benefit. VPNs have both hardware and software components. Users need the software part and connection to the server, where the hardware works. In addition, the real-time data encryption makes it impossible to read. So what is a VPN connection?

One of the reasons people use VPNs is because they don't trust their ISP. There may well be a suspicion that the provider collects data about its customers and then leaks it for money to third parties. It often happens, especially since even the data that the provider can receive is in great demand. Even the history of visiting sites is enough to target ads by IP addresses. Another option is government censorship, or the ability to access some resources only from certain countries or regions. Briefly explain what VPN on the computer allows you to bypass both restrictions.

How Does VPN Work?

After we figured out a VPN on the computer, let's see how it works. When connecting to a VPN, your browser exchanges public keys with the VPN server and establishes a secure connection with strong encryption. After that, all traffic between the browser and the server is hidden even from your ISP. Then the VPN server, in turn, establishes an encrypted connection with all the sites you intend to visit. Moreover, VPN can present you as a resident of any arbitrary country, assign an IP address, etc.

VPN scheme

To have a more detailed understanding of what VPN does to your connection, let’s check out several definitions related to networking. Those are private, public and local IP addresses. They may look similar, but represent two different parts of networking.

Private IP is the IP-address given to the Internet router that is used to connect multiple other devices to the Internet. That router may be both a network switch or a Wi-Fi router - it will equally have its private IP-address. That address is like the internal IP address, that is active and reachable for your home network. When the router sends the queries to the Internet, it uses public IP.

Public IP addresses are given to your device (or, what is more often, to your network router). It acts as the identifier of your computer/smartphone to the broad Internet. To decrease the space address use more rationally, NAT was implemented. This technology allowed giving a single public IP address per network instead of giving it to each device. The router remembers the sequence of devices and sites they were connected to, and delivers the requests back depending on the local IP of connected devices.

Local IP is the IP given to your device inside of the network. Same to the private IP, it cannot be reached from the outside of the network - until you send the packets specifically to the device. Local IP addresses may have both IPv4 and IPv6 form.

The only thing VPN alters is your public IP address. It acts as the intermediary between your router and the website you try to connect to. Therefore, the site thinks that you’ve connected it from another place. And you actually do that - especially if you choose the connection through the VPN server in the other country. That can help you with circumventing the network restrictions in your country, or ones on certain websites (i.e. the connections ban from the IPs of a certain country). Additionally, the fact of connecting to a VPN server is the only thing that your provider can record about you. A server to which you will eventually connect will get bogus information about you thanks to the VPN intermediary.

Difference between HTTPS and VPN

Someone may ask: what is the difference between the encryption provided by VPN and HTTPS (Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure), where SSL certificates are used to exchange secret keys between the browser and the website. The Internet service provider will not be able to read user traffic, will it? Then why use VPN? What is a VPN configuration?

Although the mechanism for creating an encryption tunnel in VPN might be HTTPS is the same, the area of ​​​​its application in the case of HTTPS is limited to the browser-website channel. Under HTTPS only, you won't hide your attempts to access websites from the IPS. The provider will know which sites you have accessed and be able to track any of your activity except the encrypted. Moreover, VPN is not only used to secure your outgoing traffic from the provider. With VPN, you can hide and change data about you from the websites you are active on, which is even more important than protection against a hypothetical threat in the face of IPS.

Benefits of VPN

  • Protection by secure encryption is only one of the benefits VPN provides. With the help of a virtual private network, you can transfer data and files without fear of them being read by a third party. A brute-force attempt to break the encryption key would let thieves read the data, but it would take them billions of years to break it.
  • Another essential feature of the VPN is concealing the user's location and IP address. To a server to which the user connects, the incoming request looks as if it were from another place that is, in fact, randomly or arbitrarily chosen. Besides, VPN services usually auto-clean the logs of their clients' activity. So, this is another level of protection.
  • And finally, considering that, besides hiding your actual address, you can choose your apparent location (location spoofing). A VPN can grant you access to content intended only for users from specific regions.
Location spoofing VPN

How can VPN help you to circumvent firewalls?

Firewalls are the specific setups or applications that control the Internet access. They may be installed on different levels - local network, ISP or the server. The first may limit the list of sites you can connect to from the inside of this network, and restrict the external connections. ISP-level firewall controls the list of the websites you can access at - such restrictions are generally established according to the legislative changes. Server-level firewalls control the list of IP-addresses that can connect to the server - that is done to minimise the unwanted traffic.

So how VPN may help you to break through the firewall? You cannot do a lot to the firewall on the local network level. VPN supposes the connection through the remote server one level above the Internet server provider. However, the firewall in the local network will not give you a chance even to create a request to the forbidden site. Nonetheless, VPN is very effective against the bans from the provider and the websites you are trying to connect to. When the VPN connection is established, all your ISP sees is the connection to the VPN server. After this connection the provider is unable to forbid the connection to the site, since all the requests are handled by the VPN provider.

The mechanism that allows circumventing IP bans is much easier. Site administrators ban the certain IP, or the range of IP addresses - usually ones that belong to the certain country. Such a situation happened to russian sites, which blocked the connection from Ukraine - after a chain of DDoS attacks in March 2022. VPN connection allows you to change your IP address for the sites you connect - including ones that block your real IP.

IPv4 and IPv6 - what is the difference?

The current Internet addresses are currently running two standards simultaneously. Since both of these standards are about marking the virtual address of your machine in the network, having a hybrid IPv4/IPv6 address is like having two “house numbers”. That paradoxical situation is very atypical for the Internet, where things must be standardised as much as possible. So how did that happen?

IPv4 is the first address format that appeared in 1981. You could have seen those addresses as four numbers, divided by a dot symbol - 203.31.08.99, for example. It is supposed to be the maximum number of 232 (4,294,967,296) devices in the network. Even at the moment of its implementation to ARPANET in 1982, it was pretty clear that this number would be exceeded pretty soon. Even with some tricks that allowed to decrease the speed of address space usage (NAT for instance), it was hard to stop the growth of the global Internet. Thus, in 1998, IPv6 was proposed as the solution for that problem.

IPv4 IPv6 development
The timeline that shows the IPv4 and IPv6 relations

IPv6 has a much bigger address space, and the corresponding improvements in the protocol due to the increased address space. The latter buffed from 2^32 to 2^128 - around 3.4×1038 devices. Despite its development being complete by 1998, it was not used instantly. Thanks to the actions aimed at decreasing the exhaustion of the IPv4 address space, the need for the new space was delayed until mid-’00s. That also gave a needed time gap to improve the software base and add the IPv6 protocol support to all actual OS versions.

VPN Features

If you have made up your mind to use VPN, look for a service that will feature the whole set of crucial VPN functions:

  • IP address encryption: The main point of VPN usage is to hide the user's IP address.
  • Protocol encryption: Neither cookies nor search history (or anything like that) should be left unencrypted. Indirect information like that can tell a lot about the user up to making a VPN useless.
  • Killswitch: A decent VPN service would sever your connection to any server you were accessing with its mediation in case of a crush of the nexus with the VPN server. The killswitch prevents a "normal" connection from being established at once after the failure of a VPN-server connection.
  • Multi-factor authentication Like any other service, VPN uses two-factor authentication to rule out the possibility of cybercriminals compromising your VPN account.

Types of VPN

Here are the main types of VPN technologies. They have much in common but differ in handiness, capacities, and usability.

SSL VPN

SSL VPN is most often a corporate VPN solution that allows all users to access company files and databases via personal devices. What is needed for this model to work is HTML-5 compatible browsers on connecting devices and a VPN encryption applied to the router or a single machine, through which all connections pass.

SSL VPN

Site-to-site VPN

A site-to-site VPN is not as flexible as SSL VPN, but it is a good solution for large corporations with many LANs (local area networks) connected within a WAN (vast area network.) Site-to-site VPN will provide secure data transfer throughout the environment.

Client-to-Server VPN

This one is the most common and popular type of VPN among individuals. The service-providing server is remote, and the user only has to install the software part. As the user connects to the server, the secure connection is established and maintained until the end of the session, keeping all the traffic unreadable to potential interceptors. The software working on the users' device allows choosing which region to spoof and other options. The users of desktop computers and mobile devices can benefit from VPN via the right software for their operating systems.

VPN Implementation Methods

You can install a VPN client for yourself as a client, a separate program that you will launch before starting browsing. But this is not the only option. All modern browsers support these add-ons, and VPN service providers have downloadable extensions.

VPN clients for mobile devices are no different from desktop ones, except for their mobile interface.

Also, the wireless routers can be configured to connect to a VPN server first before accessing any other resource. Thus, you can protect the traffic of all devices connected to the network through this router.

Router VPN protection
As already mentioned here, there are custom solutions for large companies configured specifically for particular workgroups. The main task of such VPNs is to prevent information leakage and eliminate the threat to corporate data from employees connecting to internal networks using their devices.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need a VPN at home?
While working with sensitive information, VPN is recommended. VPNs protect your privacy and encrypt traffic from third parties such as ISPs or someone who may try to eavesdrop your connection. It is better to choose a well-done paid VPN, since most free solutions do not offer any kind of data protection. Moreover, free solutions may sometimes collect the info about their users and the data they transfer. Another possible application for VPN is circumvention of the local restrictions for certain sites.
When should a VPN not be used?
A VPN is not always useful. Sometimes activating it can disrupt the speed of your connection and thus stop the download or play. For example, some content you use daily can only be allowed in your region. And in that case, a VPN can create discomfort. Moreover, VPN is recommended to disable when committing the online payments on trusted sites. Having VPN at the moment is useless as the site is trusted and protected, but can make the automated bank’s security services panic because of a changed location.
Should I put a VPN on my router?
If you are using multiple devices that require a stable and frequently used VPN connection, then the VPN router is what you need. Such devices include a multi-device office environment, a work computer, etc. This way, you don't have to install and configure VPN apps on such devices manually.
Should VPN be on or off on my phone?
It all depends on what purpose you have for using a VPN. If you connect this app to protect your privacy or keep your anonymity online, you need to leave it on. It is also worth adding that the VPN connection is better to keep active when using public Wi-Fi, browsing the Internet privately or you are doing online banking or purchases on untrusted sites. Overall, having your VPN constantly enabled can lead to traffic draining, as most of the virtual protected network providers offer a limited amount of traffic per day or per month.